Unboxing // Birchbox: March 2016

My very first Birchbox arrived recently! I’ve gotten the Birchbox Men’s subscription once before- it was a trial of their box that got me some “currency” for a mobile game I was into at the time, and I figured Rob (the boyfriend) could use some new products. For $10, I didn’t know really what to expect, and currently, I’m still not sure what to think. At first, I thought the box’s value was really being carried by the eye shadow sample; however, the calculated value of the other samples (using the price-to-product ratio as the “full size” product) showed me quickly that the other products are worth more than I originally would’ve guessed (or valued them at myself)

IMG_1015[1]

First Impressions: As I opened up the box it was mailed it, I found out that there was a pretty cute box they package their stuff into underneath the mail packaging. I may have scratched the aforementioned cute box trying to open the package. I don’t care much, though! I’ll probably put it use somehow.

IMG_1016[1]

What’s in the Box:

  • theBalm Stainiac in Beauty Queen. A tiny sample (about 1/4 of a tsp or 1.2 ml!!) of a well-known lip-and-cheek stain in a berry color. The color is quite pretty, and the stain sets quickly. It even lasted overnight. No discernible scent, but a funny consistency and inconsistent application. I’ve included a swatch on my wrist to show how it applies. The color
    IMG_1020[1]

    Swatch of Stainiac.

    in the middle is the true-to-color to how it stains.
    Value: Calculated at $2.29 
  • Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm. Another teeny-tiny sample, but larger than the stain- 3ml (or just over half a tsp). It is quite thick and comes out of the tube in a cream color. Appears to be scent-free, and is “100% natural.” That being said- it’s just lanolin in a glorified tube. Value: Calculated at $3.30, but honestly a lot less for what it is.
  • Wilma Shumann Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads. Single-use sample, only one set of eye pads, but it makes sense for the type of product. Gelatin-like pads with a gelatin-like scent that you place
    IMG_1027[1]

    Collagen eye pads, if you’ve never seen them.

    underneath your eyes for 20 minutes before tossing the product. Warning: they feel VERY cold, which may be part of how they combat puffiness! Value: Calculated at $3.60
  • Number 4 Limuere dhiver Fluoro5 Elixer (Restore & Repair Oil). Half-ounce container of hair oil that is essentially pure oil. A nice, feminine scent, but the product feels very greasy, and only a few drops goes a long way with this! Value: Calculated at $6.50!! 
  • Cargo Eye Shadow Duo in Sand & Ferry. These are two shadow colors featured in the Land Down Under palette by the company.  Sand is a light, shimmery, golden shade; Ferry is a nice dark brown matte. They work very nicely together! The shadow samples are 0.05oz (1.42 grams) each. In the palette, each
    IMG_0787

    Swatches of Ferry (matte shade on top) and Sand (shimmery shade on bottom) )

    eyeshadow is 0.85 grams, making the duo actually larger than the colors you’d get in the palette (although, note, this is 2 out of 12 shades). Cargo doesn’t usually sell duos, and it’s hard to calculate a value based on the palette (as the palette comes with a brush and eyeliner,  but their single shadows go for $16, so based on their singles… Value: Calculated $12.89

Total Box Value: Calculated at $28.58. Of course, this is based off of retail’s full-size prices- while I do think the box value for this is greater than the $10 you pay for the box, the lip stain and miracle balm really were not worth the calculated value, you can find cargo duos on ebay for ~$8-10, and I was able to find the full-size Number 4 hair oil for less than half the retail price on Amazon.

Will I purchase any of these products? I probably won’t purchase the stain, balm, or eye pads any time soon. While the balm was nice, for $10 I can get a 7oz tub of lanolin from Now Foods. The other two? Maybe! Cargo palettes are on my list of things to try / swatch in store. I will probably go through ULTA if I decide to get any of their products, though. As far as the hair oil, if I’m going to get the exact brand, I’ll get it through Amazon or somewhere I can get it for much cheaper. For $26 for a 2oz bottle, I can’t justify it for my budget.

One thought on “Unboxing // Birchbox: March 2016

Leave a Reply

