Unboxing // Beauty Box 5 March 2016

After spending the weekend at my parents’ (about five hours away from home) and driving back at night, going over an icy mountain pass in snowy weather (thanks to my boyfriend for insisting he drive over the last pass), I was pleasantly surprised to see my first ever Beauty Box 5 in my mailbox this morning.

Normally I’m not too surprised when boxes come, but this one surprised me because… I don’t ever recall getting an email saying it was shipped out. I normally add the dates I expect a box to get in on my calendar in my planner, and this wasn’t even listed anywhere. I had assumed I would get the April box first, not the March box. Even so, it’s always nice to open the mailbox and find an unexpected package.

First impressions: When I first opened the box, I thought it looked very cute with the blue and pink color schemes going on. It really reminded me of Easter, perhaps because it was just yesterday. The items they chose seemed not to really fit the box, which made it difficult to see exactly what I got at first. Most of the items are things I would never buy myself, which is both fun and frustrating at the same time, because I’ve no idea if I’m going to like the items.

What’s in the box:

  • Colour Me Sky Blue Fragrance. I’m not a huge fragrance person, and I really don’t have a nose for scents in general, but even I can’t mistake the jasmine scent in this. The info card says it has a “peppery freesia base” as well, and while freesia isn’t in my scent-database, it definitely smells floral. On the BB5 website, the full-size (50ml) product is $10, but the info card says it retails at $20. This sample has no size indication, but it’s pretty small- maybe a ml. Value: $0.40
  • Mai Couture Blush Papiers. These look like blotting papers but have blush pigments in them. You just rub them where you want the color. Really cool concept. I got the colors “prettyful,” which is a bright pink, and “montecito,” which is a darker, more purply pink. Each sample has two sheets (each sheet could easily do both cheeks). Full-size has 50 sheets for $15. Value: $1.20
  • Pur-lisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Eye Adore Serum. This serum helps to fight off under-eye puffiness, wrinkles, and dark circles. This sample is 7ml. The full-size is 15ml and retails for $65, although it’s not even on the BB5 website. Value: $30.33
  • Glamour Dolls Glitter Eyeliner in “Mary Jane.” I don’t even want to comment on the name given the color of this eyeliner. It is a nice foresty green, and it definitely has a LOT of glitter to it It looks like your standard tube of lip gloss, actually, but it is an eyeliner, probably similar to a liquid liner. This is a full-size product. Value: $3.99
  • Personail Nail Polish Strips. These are actually really cute! They are sticky “strips” of nail varnish so you don’t have to actually paint your own nails. They claim to last up to 10 days, and there are 16 pieces in here in a gradient of sizes so you have one full “manicure.” This is full-size. Value: $12.99
  • Bonus: BB5’s “Custom Temporary Tattoo”. Just a little temp tattoo for the fun of it. Value $2
  • Welcome Box Bonus: Marsh Mineral Eyeshadow in Vanilla Frosting. This is a 1.2 gram loos-powder sample of a white, shimmery eyeshadow and apparently full size. Value $24

Total Value: $50.91 not including the “welcome box bonus,” as not everybody gets that.

As I ordered a quarterly sub, each box is $10, but a month-to-month sub is $12. For $12, this box was pretty decent, but was carried by the nail polish strips and the eye serum. While I’m excited about the nail polish strips, I know that $13 can usually get you multiple at a drugstore, so honestly the take-home value of the box for me was a bit low- the temp tattoo, perfume, and blush paper felt like a waste of box space for their value and value to me.

One thought on “Unboxing // Beauty Box 5 March 2016

Leave a Reply

