Review // Julep’s “Love Your Bare Face” Facial Cleansing Oil

I think it’s about time I talk about my first ever cleansing oil: the “Love Your Bare Face” oil from Julep. I was always hesitant to use any oil on my face- after all, I thought my skin was oily because I would occasionally get acne. In fact, it never really wanted to try any oil cleanser.

Julep and I have a long history of me skipping boxes. I was a poor college student; spending $20 on nail polish each month wasn’t sustainable. So ever month on the 20th, I’d religiously skip. Or I’d forget and I’d have some random products I didn’t really know what to do with. The product fell into this category. It sat in the back of my cabinet until a couple months ago, when I finally decided to trust the OCM method… anns then I fell in love.

bareface_pdp_1_2

What it is: An oil cleanser! This means it isn’t a soap (it won’t saponify your skin or leave a “squeaky” feel to it). Oil cleansers use oils to dissolve oils and dirt trapped in the oils of your body. Think about it: anything water soluble will come off with water; anything oil soluble will come off with oil. As few things are dissolvable in both, you should have an element of both in a cleanser.

What is in it: Per Julep’s website: ” Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-30 Sorbitan Tetraoleate, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Fruit Oil, Citris Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Hibiscus Abelmoschus Extract, Squalane, Phenoxyethanol.”

Essentially you have a mix of several oils, somethings to help it smell nice (grapefruit peel, Rosemary), antioxidant based preservatives (tocopherols), another preservative, an extra moisturizer (squalane), and of course something to help emulsify the oils into water (PEG-30 sorbitan tetraoleate).

Now, all this said, the two ingredients that may be cause for concern are the PEG-30 and phenoxyethanol. To me, neither are a major concern.

What it smells like: It has the fragrance of citrus. It’s not a heavy scent but rather a sweet scent you get a whiff of every once in a while when using the product, but it won’t leave your skin smelling orangey.

What it feels like: Going on, it feels almost exactly like oil, which is strange at first, but is standard for a cleansing oil. Once on, it is definitely not a heavy oil (such as jojoba), but it isn’t too light either- remember, your face is slathered in this! If in my eyes, I don’t notice a huge burning effect, just a slight tinge of “that’s not supposed to be there.” Taking it off can be a bit of a pain if you have a low sink, but the find a Konjac sponge or wash cloth really helps take the products off. This doesn’t leave my face feeling tight at all, and dry patches seem very diminished after using it. It also doesn’t feel oily or greasy after its use.

Does it actually cleanse? In my experience, yes! It removes all of my makeup pretty easily, which is excellent. Even my “25 hour wear” foundations and waterproof eye makeup just gets swept away by the oils. That said, I’m not sure exactly how much into my pores it is penetrating and I do two “cleanses,” just to be sure the makeup is gone and it’s cleansing my skin as well. Now, I don’t have any particularly large pores, and blackheads aren’t much of an issue for me, but this product has never given me any blackheads or made me break out, either.

Price: From Julep, $28 or  $22.40 with a Maven account, for 3.5 fl oz. $28 at Ulta for the same size. Sometimes, Julep has “deals” on their website to get them for cheaper- currently, they are in the Secret Store- 2 of them for $28 (half off). Until April 30th, 2016, use the code “BAREFREE” to get a free Bare Face Cleansing Oil with a $30 purchase- meaning I was able to get three of the oils + a nail polish for $32 🙂 Secret store is only available for those who got the monthly box, though.

Rating: 8.5/10. This is one of my absolute favorite cleansers because I really feel clean without feeling dry or tight after using it, but at full-price, it’s fairly expensive for the size. It’s also only available online from Julep or Ulta (yep, it’s not even in stores), and some people may not be too happy about the PEG and phenoxyethanol.

One thought on “Review // Julep’s “Love Your Bare Face” Facial Cleansing Oil

Leave a Reply

