SftPf // Rimmel London’s Long Lasting Foundation – Day 2, Light Ivory #91

Given the entirely wrong color of #100 Ivory, I decided to try #91, Light Ivory as it looked a bit lighter.

On Temptalia, they describe this color as “fairest with yellow undertones” while #100 Ivory was “fairest with neutral undertones.” When I swatched, #91 looked a little darker than #100, honestly, and even a little bit more pink, IMO.

img_1308

#91 is up at the top, followed by #100, then #101. The final three are various Smashbox ones from Ulta.

Like the trial with #100 Ivory, I didn’t use a primer or anything else on my face so I could get the full feel of the product itself.

Directly after applying!

Application: Using a wet RT complexion sponge (probably more wet than the previous attempt), stippled/dabbed over my face.

Shade and tone: This color seems honestly more fair/lighter than #100, and while I think it is a bit yellow on my skin, it seems to work better than #100 for me personally because it does look light. It is passable for me in most lights.

Coverage: I’m still not getting a “full coverage” effect per bottle advertisement. I would still say medium coverage, although I was able to use less product than last time due to improved application technique. I’m curious to try this one using a foundation brush.

Finish: While not entirely matte, it also isn’t entirely dewy. It seems to look relatively satin in some lights and relatively velvety in others.

How it feels on my skin: Like the first time, it felt pretty tacky for a while before finally setting to my face. It does take a while to set, but despite being tacky, it doesn’t transfer. A setting powder may help this foundation set, however powder might make this look more velvety or semi-matte and less dewy on normal to dry skin.

How long it lasts: I can’t say I notice any difference from last time. Coverage still held after four hours and after seven hours (images below).

In general, I like this foundation. I’m not a fan of the tackiness, but I like the wear and I like the finish. No color available to me seems to really fit my skin tone perfectly, but I’m aware that RL has a shade #10 called Light Porcelain that may fit my tone better if I can ever find it. I am going to return #100 and #101 and keep #91 as a benchmark color for other foundation trials.

 

Leave a Reply

