Unboxing // Walmart Beauty Box Spring 2016

Despite the fact that there was essentially no tracking information, and it’s a $5 beauty box from Walmart, I was excited when I got the email saying that my box had been shipped.

The day started out pretty awfully. Last night, the boyfriend drank “a little too much” and was definitely not safe to drive, so I had to pick him up… and take him into work this morning. Before we left, I got a call from Enterprise saying the insurance company wouldn’t approve of the billing, and they asked if I’d get in contact with them and sort it out. Not only is that just a pain, but I have pretty bad social anxiety and what I suppose is called “telephobia” (horrible anxiety response to phone calls). I drop him off, handle the car insurance issue, find out there’s an issue with my credit card, handle that issue… And then I had to figure out how to mail in my tax return documents.

Not a great start.

But like most of my bad days, it got better. After filing my taxes, I went shopping at Ulta (birthday month bonus points!), the sun was shining, it was warming up, and….

The Walmart Beauty Box was in my mailbox.

First impressions: I had low expectations for this box… It’s Walmart, first of all, and only $5. I spent the past couple weeks, since I signed up for this box, actively avoiding all unboxings and reviews because I didn’t want to know what I would be getting. The box itself was so sunny and beautiful that when I saw it in the parcel box, I instantly smiled. After that stressful morning, the sunflower actually felt like a ray of sunlight at the moment. Upon opening the box- I was impressed. Items were full, travel, or deluxe-sample size, mostly, and there was so much in it. Yes, the brands are “typical” brands- but this is Walmart!

So, what’s in the box?

  • Jergen’s Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer, Fair to Medium.  This is definitely a “deluxe” sample size or travel size at 2 oz. This is like a low-level “self tanning” lotion, and it’s just enough to start a glow. I like that it can be used on a range of skin tones and that the effect is supposedly gradual, but I also don’t mind my natural pale complexion. This will probably go to somebody in my family. Value: $2, prices vary.
  • John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Shampoo. Another travel/deluxe sample size at 2oz, which is a good size for trying a shampoo. I’ve heard positive things about this brand and line of color-depositing shampoos and conditioners, and I’ve always wanted to try it. Now, though, with my hair dyed, I’m slightly concerned it will muddle the purple and add extra warmth that I don’t need in my hair. My sister, on the other hand, might really love it. Value: $2.14 based on full-size at Walmart
  • Vera Wang Embrace Periwinkle and Iris. This is a fragrance! It comes in a small atomizer, 1.2ml. My sample was slightly drained when I got it, but oh well. This is not technically perfume as it is an eau de toilette, so the concentration of fragrance is a little lighter. I definitely get a floral scent out of this, but it’s not a jasmine or freesia scent. It’s definitely more iris and violet, as the package indicates. On Fragrantica, it’s notes as described as: “Top notes are bergamot and mandarin orange; middle notes are violet, iris, jasmine and periwinkle; base notes are vanilla, benzoin, whipped cream and sugar.” It has a bit of a powdery finish, which is not my favorite, but it smells decent, actually.  Value: $1.13
  • Neutrogena MoistureSmooth Color Stick in Almond Nude. I’ll get a swatch of this, maybe, sometime 😛 This is a full-size lip crayon. The color is a nice, medium-toned nude with slight, muted pinks (almost mauve) as opposed to simply browns. I’m excited to try it! Value: $7, but prices vary (at Ulta, these are $9)
  • Curel Itch Defense Body Wash. This is a product that’s completely new to me. It’s a 1oz deluze sample of a body wash formulated for dry, itchy skin… which is my skin. I’m very excited to try! Value: $0.70, but again, it varies.
  • Biore Baking Soda Pore Cleanser. I have mixed feelings about this. Baking soda cleansing has been trendy recently, but it can be too harsh with a pH that’s too high. The concentration in this product looks pretty small, but I’m worried it’ll irritate my skin. Perhaps the boyfriend will like to use this for the blackheads he gets on his nose? 1 oz sample. Value: about $0.90, obviously varies.
  • Colgate Optic White Express White Toothpaste. I usually use Crest exclusively, but having more toothpaste (especially whitening) is always a good idea and I’ve pleased to see a decent-sized (1.45 oz) in the box. Value: $2 or so.
  • Cerave Healing Ointment. This is a tiny (2.5g) sample. I’ve purchased some CeraVe before, for my boyfriend’s dry patches that were pretty resistant to any other moisturizer, but I’ve never tried their healing ointment myself. I don’t have much need for this one. Value: $1ish?

Total value: $~16.80, really depending upon where you get items. For a $5 beauty bod, this is really exciting, especially because there were more samples in general even if the brands aren’t high-end.

But wait, there’s more!

I also want to include these “samples” that were more foil-packets/coupons that came in the box. They don’t really change how I calculate box value, but I’m still pleased with them today. Neutrogena’s Acne Cover+Correct- essentially a CC cream- came with a $1 coupon for any of the Acne line- I’ll probably save these for my sister who has more blemish-prone skin than I do. Burt’s Bees BB Cream also came with a coupon and a foil packet in light/medium (which is definitely too dark for me!). Perhaps what I’m most excited about though? The L’Oreal True Match thing. This $1 coupon also comes with these sticker things you can put on your face to help you find your correct match. There’s 9 stickers total- 3 in warm, 3 in neutral, and 3 in cool, and each sticker is a transparent, matte look with 3-4 “sample colors” and space in between so you can see which color blends into your skin tone best. It’s really a great tool, and I’m excited to try it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

