Wishlist // Birthday Month Envies

It’s finally April, one of the best months in the year. Where I live, April is the perfect weather. While it starts warming up in March, it usually until April that it stops snowing and starts raining, grass becomes green again, and you can really hear the birds sing in the morning. Note the operative word here, though: usually. We’ve been known to still have snow in May!

April is also one of my favorite months because it just so happens to be my birth month. No, I don’t celebrate the whole month, but just the thought of April takes me back to when I was a kid, making lists of all the new toys I wanted, what I wanted for my birthday dinner, and what we’d do for a party. So, all my life, April 1st has been a reminder that my birthday is coming and to start preparing.

When you’re older, birthday lists are way different. In fact, I’m a little nervous, as this will be my first birthday away from my family. Even last year, as a senior in college, I drove all the way on my birthday (on a Tuesday! I even had class that day!) just to see my family + get my license renewed. This year, it’ll be by myself, with the night with my partner (hopefully he won’t be working late that night). So instead of having a party or going to get sushi for lunch with my sister, I’ll probably spend my day shopping. It’s a good excuse to buy those things you want but can’t justify on a day-to-day basis. Here’s what I’m eyeing recently!

Makeup and accessories:

 

  1. A lighted, magnifying mirror, such as the Conair Tri Fold or another similar product.I have terrible eyesight and I can’t actually see my eyes in the mirror I have in the bathroom “vanity” (it’s mostly just a sink with a bit of room for currently-using products). We also don’t have any windows in the bathroom, so the lighting is really bad. I’ve been meaning to set up shop somewhere else (like the coffee table), but without a proper mirror, that’s almost impossible. Having one of these things will dramatically help me, especially with the magnification… Maybe I’ll finally learn how to do liquid or gel eyeliner??
  2. The Brush Guard Cleaning Kit. I’ve seen this at my local Ulta, as I’ve looked at probably 3-4 times. It’s not on their website though, so who knows if it’ll be there by the time my birthday rolls around. This kit contains a “ventilated drying vase” and some protective covers, more shampoo, and a microfiber cloth- it just seems like it’d be so nice to have!
  3. A metal palette + spatulaI think a lot of product gets lots when you use the back of your hand, and I’ve honestly been considering getting some kind of artist palette, but this metal one looks way prettier IMO!
  4. Makeup Storage / Cosmetic OrganizersOn my extensive list of things to do, “find a surface to use as a vanity and organize all my makeup” is probably in one of the top slots… Without having any organizers, it’s pretty difficult to do. I have a few organizers that I use for my haircare products on top of my dresser, but I feel like I need some nice, clear ones to really get setup with my makeup products. I actually asked for some of these when my mom asked what to gift me this year.
  5. Peanut Butter & Jelly Palette by Too Faced. I’ve been wanting this one because of it’s color theme- browns, purples, and pinks always look good with my hair color.

Hair and skin care

  1. American Crew Anti-Dandruff + Sebum Control ShampooApparently this is a “masculine” shampoo, but I’m not one to care about gender implications in my beauty products. Dandruff gets in the way of my color-preserving strategies more than anything else- I honestly think I shower more often because I want to get the dandruff out of my hair instead of thinking my hair is actually “too greasy.” Of course, my hair does still get greasy, which is why the sebum control aspect also appeals to me.
  2. Lactic Acid Exfoliating Pads (from Garden of Wisdom). Lactic acid was recently recommended to me for my skin type- I have pretty dry, sensitive skin. I’ve had a condition called keratosis pilaris since I was a kid, and I’m starting to wonder if some of my little bumps below my lips are KP. Either way, a good gentle chemical exfoliation product, like these pads, might be really good for my skin. I wasn’t able to find a good product from Ulta or Sephora, but these were recommended to me. I can’t find any real pictures on their website, though!
  3. Lactic Acid Peel. In the same vein as before, I’ve been considering a higher-strength peel to use once a week or so. I’m not sold on a brand yet, but I’ve heard Makeup Artist’s Choice is a good brand.
  4. Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Body Gel/Cream.  While I think my face is too sensitive to use glycolic acid, and salicylic acid has always dried my face skin out, these products may actually be pretty good for other parts of my body… I think this would be really good for those parts.
Leave a Reply

