SftPF // Rimmel London’s Stay Matte in #010 Light Porcelain

After being decently pleased by Rimmel’s Lasting Finish 25 Hour foundation but thought a pinker color would suit my body a little bit more, I was hoping to find their #010 shade in the Lasting Finish… But nowhere near me seems to carry it. When I went to return the #100 and #101 from Walgreens, I saw that they had a #010 in their Stay Matte Liquid Mousse, so I decided to try it.


As you can see above, I swatched it on my arms to compare it to #091 Light Ivory in their 25 Hour. #010 is above #091. As a swatch, it definitely looks more pink, but it also looks pretty dark.  I was a little bit worried that it wouldn’t be light enough with the swatch, but I gave it a try on a day where the lighting outside was decent and I didn’t really have anywhere to go.

Rimmel London “Stay Matte” Liquid Mousse Foundation in #010 Light Porcelain

Directly after application.

  

Application: Well, first I tried using a simple cosmetic wedge sponge. This was awful, so I switched to a damp Real Techniques sponge. No primers or other products were used with this (not even a daily moisturizer)

Shade + tone: I was expecting this to be a fair pink foundation, and it was… but on my arm it looked very dark and on me, so I expected it to be incredibly pink and kinda dark. It didn’t. It was pretty light in application. Now, I don’t think I’ve gotten any darker personally. In natural light, it looked fine. In warm light, it looked fine. In fact, in most lighting it appeared to match my face and chest well, despite being slightly too pale for me (I think?) With flash, it looked whiter, with subtle pink undertones. This is a bit shocking as there is no SPF in this and it’s free of most products that are known to cause flashback  It looks a bit weird on me.

 

Finish: This is definitely a matte finish on my skin. In fact, it’s so matte that my skin hates it and it looks honestly cakey.

Coverage: Medium to full. On areas I applied two layers (such as where my facial veins on my right side are visible), it definitely looks full. Other places it’s more medium. Potentially buildable, but given it’s caking on my skin, I don’t want to say it’s truly to be used in a buildable way.

It’s also come to my attention that my Persian ancestry is also probably responsible for the amount of hair on my face… 


How does it feel on my skin: It honestly feels really good. Unlike the 25 Hour product, this isn’t tacky at all. It maybe feels slightly tight on my skin, but I’m not going to complain TOO much about it.

How long does it last: I’m going to be brutally honest with you: I don’t know. I hated the way my face looked with this on that after about 3 hours, I couldn’t stand it.

Will I ever use this: Honestly, no. The issue with the flash photography looking different is pretty big- my family takes a lot of photos (sometimes without my permission), plus it just makes me nervous. Also, the cakiness is a huge issue for me! Definitely not for my dry skin. I may go back and re-try this foundation after a few rounds of chemical exfoliation and see if that changes anything with this, but until then, I won’t be picking up the tube.

Leave a Reply

