SftPF // Kat Von D Lock It in L42

Somebody from Reddit was very, very generous. I was asking for small samples of pale foundations or ends-of-bottles (I, of course, would pay shipping + the cost of materials), and somebody who just got in some KVD “Lock It” Foundation in L42 sent me a contact case FULL of it. Now, when we’re talking foundation samples, we usually do a few pumps. This was definitely more than that. Probably around 5 ml of this foundation. And a little of this stuff goes a long way.

Needless to say, I was very excited, and I actually tried this product out twice. So let’s get into it

Foundation: Kat Von D “Lock It” Foundation in shade Light 42

Application technique: Not shockingly, a damp RT blending sponge.

Shade and tone: This foundation is incredibly light- on facial swatches (which I recently posted), it was the lightest shade.  On me, it looks a tiny bit too light, in normal light. As soon as I include a flash, it jumps out as very bright and very pink. This is much the same issue I had with Rimmel London’s Stay Matte in 010.

KVD L42 with flash- definitely not right.

Coverage: While I know this is a well-known full-coverage foundation, I’ve never been able to get truly full coverage from any foundation, and this is not an exception. I may not be getting the correct coverage because of my application technique with the RT sponge- plus I think this color is actually, dare I say it, too light for me. I managed to get medium coverage out of this.

Finish: To me, this feels pretty velvety/semi-matte. I’ve had more matte foundations, but this doesn’t give a glowing look.

How this looks and feels on my skin: I noticed a tiny bit of caking that is common for me with matte foundation, but it wasn’t bad at all. It felt a little tight and heavy on my skin, but it was definitely more bearable than RL’s.

How long this lasts: I really expected a lot out of this: it is boasted as a 24-hour, no transfer foundation. Now, I don’t keep foundation on my skin for that long- anywhere from 8 to 16 hours, depending upon my day’s plans, but usually about 12. As I applied this mid-day, I only kept it on for 8 hours. Here are facial updates, 2 hours between photos.

As you can see, this foundation lasted a decently long time. I was pretty impressed. When I went to wash it off, I was surprised at just how much was left on my face.

Would I ever wear this? Honestly, probably. It didn’t look too wrong for my skin (albeit, I think to get the right color, I’d need to mix with L44), and unlike other matte-type foundations, I didn’t want to wash it off immediately. Caking on my dry skin was pretty minimal as well (NOT completely absent, but definitely not as bade as others). It’s a good foundation, especially for mid-range.

Leave a comment