Unboxing // Scent Trunk: First Impressions!

ydzhjdc

I’ve been trying to get more into fragrances lately. We all know my nose isn’t the most well-trained; I can’t tell the difference between top, middle, and bottom notes, and sometimes I can’t even describe what I’m smelling. So, I figured having a scent subscription box would do me good. Some people recommended indie perfumeries from Etsy- order a few samples here and there instead of getting a box- and while I did purchase probably 15 or more scent samples from one indie perfumer recommended to me, I also found this subscription service.

I decided to sub for a few reasons:

  1. They work only with indie perfumers around the world. I’m not going to get cookie-cutter scents found in Big Box Stores and cosmetic counters, and I may get to sample some very individual scents.
  2. They send 3 scents, not 1 (like Scentbird).
  3. They donate 1.5% of their profits to research for depression, which is something I have and thus a major perk.
  4. It was $5 to try the first box.

So, what’s in the box? 🙂

cy3dyar

Fragrances are packaged similarly- the same size atomizer (which, btw, I greatly appreciate), a similar Scent Trunk label with the perfume name, perfumery name, and perfumery logo, and all in a small blue mesh bag. Underneath the mesh bag? Three info cards, complete with note info, sillage and longevity rating, and even a little flag to tell you what country the perfumery is from.

0feixvq

My three fragrances:

  • Fruits of the Tree of Knowledge by 4160 Tuesdays. The card very accurately describes this fragrance- cherry jam. To me, even a bit pie-like. I can smell the sour-citrus top notes and the cherry middle noes. I get the faintest whiff of rose, which I actually enjoy, but my boyfriend apparently did not. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any sandalwood, and I think having stronger sandalwood notes would make this a little heavier and more agreeable to the boyfriend. That said, the cherry jam scent is delightful and light and perfect for a day out (or, if you’re like me, in).
  • Briar Rose by Ineke. I didn’t know I needed to smell this, but I’m so happy I did. I love everything Disney- it’s just who I am- and Disney princesses are my not-so-guilty pleasure in life. While it isn’t my favorite scent, I completely smell Briar Rose (as Briar Rose, living with the fairies) in this. Raised in the woods, out picking berries when she meets her prince, it’s only fitting that her scent is heavily influences by dark berries (raspberry and blackberry, although to me, I just smell mixed berries). Mid-notes are floral- I think I can pick up on the violet and not just the rose- which made my boyfriend say “no” to it, and it has a powdery finish which makes me feel a little sick, but I can’t stop singing and dancing the waltz when I smell this.
  • Coconut Milk by Sarah Horowitz Parfums. Honestly, while this is the only scent the boyfriend actually liked alright, I found it a little bit bland. I am a huge fan of almond and coconut, and I think I picked up a little on the almond, but it felt pretty typically coconutty. I’m happy that unlike the coconut scent I got in one of my recent boxes, this didn’t at all have the astringent scent of Malibu Coconut Rum, but other than that, it’s just very… normal. The scent does wear down to reveal the orange flower notes, but I’m just not that into florals.
Leave a Reply

