Review // Sukin Sensitive Cleansing Lotion

The last time I visited my family, I talked to my sister about how irritating my dry skin is. I had just used a new scrub which utterly destroyed my cheeks, and I was trying to repair all of that damage (note: the only way to repair skin that’s been stripped raw is waiting). She mentioned that she had a cleanser and moisturizer that didn’t really work well for her but might work for me, so before I left she gave them to me.

As you might know, I’m incredibly partial to Julep’s Love Your Bare Face Cleansing Oil. That said, I was told by some other people that my morning cleanser really should be something like a cleansing lotion or gel- I didn’t need to wash anything but maybe some sweat or dirt off, so a strong cleanser wasn’t necessary. I was curious about the cleansing lotion, but I was also very, very cautious. I read the ingredients carefully and hesitated at sesame oil (note: I cannot stand sesame seeds- I even pick them off of burger buns).

But when I woke up with flaking cheeks this morning (after doing an intensive hydration argan oil mask the previous night), I figured… well, why not try?

Oh, I fell in love.

Product: Sukin’s Sensitive Cleansing Lotion

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract (Chamomile), Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil (Rose Hip), Vanillin, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol.  Notice: The ingredients listed are primarily natural and benign. Water, aloe vera, various oils, various extracts, and then some other items meant to help with emulsification and preservation.

So, review time!

What the bottle looks like- pretty typical.


Ease of Use: SUPER easy. It comes out from the pump top- for me, one pump seems a little too much, but I use the full pump anyway because I love how this stuff smells and feels on my skin. They say you should use this on a wet face, and a dry face really doesn’t work at all.

Does it work? As far as I can tell, yes. I only use this in the morning, though, so I can’t attest to it’s makeup cleansing abilities, but given that it has oils in it, I think it would work well on makeup, too. This is marketed towards sensitive skin, and I can tell you this hasn’t once irritated my skin, even a little. In fact, it seems really soothing and kind on my face. It’s also marketed as a cleansing lotion (because technically, it is an emulsion), and I know that’s often associated with dry skin. I have noticed slightly less flaking and dry patches since using this as my morning cleanser. I’ve also notice absolutely no additional breakouts, no additional clogged pores.

How does this feel and how does my skin feel after? Using this product feels like a complete dream.  Not only does it smell heavenly (which I really cannot stress enough- it reminds me of vanilla and oatmeal), it feels just like using lotion. Once I wash the stuff off, my skin really does feel more hydrated- no tightness at all. I love it.

Overview: 9/10, holy shit. This stuff honestly seems to be my perfect morning cleanser. Everything about it works great. No nut oils so people allergic to nuts can use this safely. No harsh chemicals- just nice oils. The most sensitive people may not like the alcohols, and the oils may be a little much for anybody with oily or acne prone skin, but for me, this feels like such a holy grail. It also, as I think I’ve said more than once, smells AMAZING. And, this cleanser isn’t super expensive: The 125ml pump-top bottle retails for $10, but it’s mostly a UK and Aussie brand. My sister got it at TJ Maxx, most likely for around $7, and you can find it for lower on some sites online.

When this bottle is gone, I will most definitely be purchasing this again.

Leave a Reply

