My Face // A (Nearly) Fully Tarte Face

After getting that awesome Mother’s Day deal, I was so excited to try all my new products, so I thought I’d try them all at once!

I will say this: my first ever “real” face primer was Tarte, and I’ve had some Tarte products come in beauty boxes, but this is my first time dealing with all of the products (not just shade, but actual formulas!) included in this look.


Primer: No real primer! I simply moisturized with my Sukin facial moisturizer and added my Neutrogena SPF55 sunscreen and waited about 15 minutes before continuing to do my face. This is a ‘cone based sunscreen and works with silicone-based foundations.

Foundation: Tarte Double Duty Empowered Hybrid Gel in Fair-Light Neutral. This is a ‘cone based foundation. I applied this first by dotting the foundation on my face and then using a damp RT complexion sponge to blend. Honestly, I love the finish and feel of this foundation, but it looks a little bit too dark on my skin and the undertone isn’t perfect. If this came in a slightly lighter shade, I would be all over it! I’ll be doing a full review of this soon!

Blush: Tarte Cheek Stain in Blushing Bride. I used my fingers to gently pick up some color from the stick and then dab and blend it on my cheeks. This is actually the very first time I’ve use a blush like this! First impression: it’s quite pretty, and I THINK it blends out alright, but the color doesn’t look 100% with the foundation color.

Lips: Tarte Amazonian Lipstick Butter in Tulip.I liked this color a lot! It’s a lovely color on my lips. It doesn’t seem to be super opaque, but it works well. Looks like a nice MLBB on me! There is some slight feathering, but I didn’t use a lip liner. Feels very hydrating, actually, and even though there is shea in this, I haven’t had a bad, itchy reaction yet.

Eyeliner: Tarte Clay Pot Waterproof Liner in Blackened Plum. I applied this using the “etch & sketch” brush, mostly using the angled end, and OH MY GOSH I think I might be in love!! I definitely need to work on my application technique, but this was my first time using a gel/potted liner and using a liner brush, so I can’t be too hard on myself. I did a simple puppy-style liner because anything else may be too advanced for me. I was surprised at how soft and smooth this formula was, and I love the color. Now, I also used a white liner (just a basic Ulta one) on my lower waterline- this is why it’s only nearly a fully tarte face!

Mascara: Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes! Waterproof Mascara in Black.  Honestly, I didn’t notice any big difference with this on my lashes. My lashes are already very dark, so I don’t really need a mascara for that purpose- I prefer ones that lengthen or make them look a little more full, and this was just OK- but it didn’t clump on me at all, didn’t flake at all, and in general held up very well!

Leave a Reply

