Unboxing // Amazon Prime Sample Box – Women’s Makeup and Hair Care

If you didn’t know already, Amazon has been offering sample boxes (of various kinds) to Prime account holders. Each account can get one of each box. They cost anywhere from $5 to $20, but they each come with a “credit” for specific types of purchases equal to the box cost- so you can buy the full-size of something you love for a discounted price. They come and go, too- not all are always in stock. I already have gotten a few of these boxes, but my Women’s Makeup and Hair Care box came today! It is $9.99 (and you get a $9.99 credit to use on select makeup and hair care purchases), and you can find it here. You can view all sample boxes here.

When I got the notification from Amazon on my phone that my box was delivered, I was surprised! It was raining very, very heavily and I hadn’t heard a knock or the doorbell. I went to my front door, which is in a foyer so it stays dry, and nothing! They had left it out in the pouring rain by my back door… in the dirt. Ugh.


Luckily, everything inside was dry.


This box is not packaged to be all pretty like the Luxury Box, but oh well. That’s not make or break for me. In the box, you get:

  • L’oreal Brow Stylist Sculptor in 360 Brunette. I don’t use a lot of brow products, and this looks a little bit rich/chocolatey for my hair (which is more of a dark taupe). Full-size, though! RV: $7 on Amazon (cheapest I’ve seen it)
  • L’oreal Voluminous Original Mascara in 305 Black. Like the one that came in that Allure box. Literally the exact same thing. Ah well, with how often I get eye infections, more mascara is nice, and it’s full-size!  RV: $5.99 at most drugstores.
  • Fekkai Brilliant Glossing Shampoo and Conditioner. 10ml foil packets each. I’m gonna take the time to say that this size foil packet irritates me. I use less than 10ml of shampoo, but you can’t reseal foil packets. You also can’t really put these in sample jars. It’s just inconvenient. RV: $1.69 for both (based on $19.99/8oz)
  • L’oreal Lumi Cushion in W3. It’s the same thing that came in June’s Target Beauty Box. RV: $1.85
  • Black 15 in 1 Miracle Hair Treatment. This is one I’m really excited to try! It comes in a spray bottle and is supposed to be used on clean, towel-dry hair or dry hair in between shampoos. It’s a good sized spray at 1 fl oz. RV: $3.99, based on the official website here.
  • Garnier Whole Blends Honey Treasures Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner. 50ml each, these travel-sized bottles are much preferred to the foil packet sample. They do contain sulfates but are paraben free. I’m unsure if I’ll use them or not. Based off of $3.99 for 12.5 oz at Walgreen, RV: $1.08
  • Mineral Fusion Lengthening Mascara in Graphite. Small, deluxe sample (0.06oz). They’re a “natural” brand and I’ve actually used some of their products before. RV $1.33 based off of Amazon’z price of $12.69 for full size or $1.57 based off of MSRP of $14.99.

No, this isn’t a “great value” in and of itself. It’s about $23 total value, possibly less depending upon where you get full-size prices, and you may not really want everything in the box… But, with that $9.99 credit, you can get my absolute favorite lip color, L’oreal Infallible Pro-Last Two Step… which DOES make this a good deal for me! Yeah, I know what I’ll be getting with my credit 🙂

3 thoughts on “Unboxing // Amazon Prime Sample Box – Women’s Makeup and Hair Care

Leave a Reply

