Unboxing // BeautyCon x Kandee Johnson Summer 2016

This box caused me a lot of problems. I knew to begin this would be my most expensive sub- I did a full year, or four boxes, for $99 upfront + $7 for shipping each quarter. As annoyed as I was that they don’t bill for shipping outright, I thought it was worth it to shave off $20 and almost- almost- offset the cost of shipping. When my box shipped, I noticed something odd: it was shipping to my billing address! I went to BeautyCon’s website and it looked like they had a data entry error; even though my card was billed properly (which only happens when the billing address is correct), they had flipped my shipping and billing, so they sent my box to my parents’ home… 300 miles away. Was I going to spend 10 hours driving and $50 in gas to get this box? No. I contacted UPS and re-routed the box… for a $21 fee. UPS did get it to me quit fast- it only added a day of transit time, meaning it was rushed to me, but even still, I almost doubled the price of the box!

Having paid so much and expended so much energy trying to get my hands on this, I had really, really high expectations. Keep this in mind when I go through.

The presentation:


The box isn’t really my style from the outside. It’s just a simple grid pattern which does nothing for me. Whatever was on the outside (the slip cover that I speculate probably had Kandee’s name on it) was lost on me because UPS had to slather it with stickers to re-direct my box. Once you open it, there’s a guide on how to share the box on social media, which put a dent in my enjoyment. I don’t like pushy things like this, but I’m not going to fault them for wanting to build up brand image. The items were wrapped up nicely, though: tissue paper, wrapped in plastic, and then stickered together made for a nice, sleek presentation- I did like the inside of it!

The box contents:


  • Garnier SkinActive Clearly Brighter Daily Moisturizer. I have a DS of this, but I haven’t used it yet. This is the full-size version, which I do honestly expect from a more expensive box. I am interested in this and will most likely use it, but I will use the DS first. Retail value: $14.99
  • Benzac Blemish Clearing Hydrator. This is the second moisturizing product in this box, and it is full-size as well. I have dry and dehydrated skin, so I’m happy for all the hydrating products. I don’t break out a lot, but the ingredient in this is salicylic acid, a BHA I’ve been looking at adding into my routine to help with some (non-oxidized) clogged pores on my nose and chin (my lactic acid exfoliation hasn’t removed these completely). I will use this! Retail value: $7.15
  • Versaspa Face Moisturizing Gradual Lotion. I’m so glad this is a deluxe sample and not a full-size product because I will not use this. I’m not of the belief that you should feel compelled to change your natural skin tone or shade at all- darker complected ladies shouldn’t be expected to use a lightening cream, and us fair girls shouldn’t be expected to tan in the summer. If you like tanning or you get a natural tan, that’s whatever, but I don’t like it. I might try to sell this or swap it. Retail value: $4.38
  • NYX Ombre Lip Duo in OLD05 Peaches and Cream. While this product interests me and it is full-size, the colors are clearly not right- it’s this bright orange lip pencil and a more muted, creamsicle colored lipstick. I might try to sell or swap this as well. Retail value: $12
  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in 630 Cashmere. I have other “shimmery champagne” eyeshadow sticks, but I think this is a little warmer-toned. While I don’t like warm-toned products on my lips, I’m okay with them on my eyes, so this color is okay for me, and I can’t complain about another full-size product. Retail value: $4.50
  • Smashbox Brow Tech Shaping Powder in Taupe. Okay, not every product type can be a hit, but honestly I’m surprised they put this in here, especially at full-size, because brow colors need to be quite specific. Taupe is going to be too light for my eyebrows. I won’t even open this because I know it’s totally unworkable for me, even if I used brow products regularly. Retail value: $25.
  • Neutrogena Ultra Light Cleansing Oil. As much as I love cleansing oils, I have used this product before and didn’t like it. I do like it “enough” in the sense that I’d use it in a pinch if I forgot all my other stuff, and it does smell really good, but it is too drying for my skin and I already have two bottles… Retail value: $7.63.
  • Cover FX Contour Brush. I do really like brushes, and this is going to be one of my first “nicer” brushes, but it’s contour, which… I don’t use. I do think it’d be good for highlighter or blush though. I’m creative with my brush use. Note that I usually give brushes a personal value of $5, but below in the spreadsheet, because this isn’t a drugstore brush which I usually use, I did up that value. Retail value: $38.
  • Redken Fashion Waves 07 Sea Salt Spray. Texturizer really isn’t my “thing,” but I also don’t know how to use it. I might try it out and see how I like it, but it is full-size and I’d prefer to test out a product type with a smaller, lower-valued item. Retail value: $19.50
  • Too Faced Better than Sex Waterproof Mascara. This has been on my “try” list recently!! I love the original Better than Sex, but I do prefer Waterproof versions as they keep my curl longer (plus I’m overly emotional when I watch movies). This is a deluxe ample, which is definitely fine with me as I always have to toss my mascara before it runs out anyway. Retail value: $13.80
  • LA Fresh Instant Cooling Body Soother Wet Wipe. And… a foil packet sample?! I wasn’t expecting that in this box. I’m not really interested in it, but I’ll toss it in the purse for unexpected needs. Retail value: $0.42
  • LA Fresh Oil-Free Face Cleanser. Oh, boy, another wet wipe foil packet?! Honestly, I think the box can do without this. I am not into oil-free cleansers (dry skin needs some oils!) but it’s still useful to keep in the purse. Retail value: $0.30.

This also came with a 15% + Free Shipping Gift CardI don’t even want to write about this. It’s not a real product; it’s just a promotional item for a new website coming out in July. Uninterested and this thing has no actual value….

Overall:

beautycon summer 2016

As you can see from the spreadsheet, the value in this box was “there,” coming in at just under $150. Of course, my retail values are either MSRPs or the cheapest “normal store” non-sale price online (eg, Walmart, Target, ULTA, etc). For $32 (with shipping) it’s definitely got value. If I could sell the full-size products I don’t like at half off, then my personal value is around $67, which is a bit higher than what I ended up paying, including the rerouting fee. It’s definitely not a bad value, but I’m a little underwhelmed by it in general. It’s okay, but not amazing, mostly because of the highly specific product shades.

I am pleased with the product size type and amounts. There were 12 total samples, 8 full-size items, 2 deluxe samples (one of which is actually preferable), plus two foil packet items that confused me but may have been added just to make retail value or total number samples as promised/advertised. But, as all boxes, some were a hit and some were a miss. We’ll see if I can actually sell the products I don’t want.

5 thoughts on “Unboxing // BeautyCon x Kandee Johnson Summer 2016

  1. Jenna says:

    On the Benzac… The retail value provided for that is WAY off. It was the one product that, when I saw it in all the spoilers, I couldn’t believe was being included in a subscription box because I regularly see the entire collection available at my local Dollar Tree for $1 and at Big Lots for $2. Granted, you might pay more if you shop for it at other retailers, but this is a brand I’ve seen sold for $1-2 on a regular basis for at least the last year. It still may be a good product, but I don’t think I’d value it at over $7.

    Like

      • Jenna says:

        Indeed. Thing is, that’s where I first saw it. I have seen it in other stores since, but at first I thought it was one of those brands that was sold exclusively at dollar stores. That’s not a bad thing, mind you. I get a lot of my sheet masks at Big Lots (4/$2) and the Dollar Tree, and they’re fine as long as I wear a silicone cover over them. But I never noticed the retail price at Walmart being so much higher because I’ve just always thought of it being $1-2.

        Like

      • Lucy Tries Beauty says:

        I have nothing against dollar store and big lots products. I used to routinely go in myself (only stopped because even though it’s cheap, it’s still clutter… you should see my product spread sheet). That said I think Big Lots gets the products that aren’t selling well (similar to TJ Maxx) or are expiring soon so that’s how you get the discounts there… Dollar Tree though it just usually like, elf products. When I googled the Benzac, though, I found a site selling it for over $17, and this article: http://weheartthis.com/2015/02/10/benzac-acne-solutions-review/ lists the retail price at $16.99. Maybe being at the dollar tree is a new thing?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

