Thankful Thursday // July 7, 2016

 

Many of you don’t know this, but I’m actually away from home visiting my parents, sisters, and grandfather. A lot of what I’m going to list are related to my week at my family’s house.

  • I’m thankful for easy drives and good weather. Living in the middle of nowhere, driving out to visit my family is much, much cheaper than trying to fly- and at “only” five hours, it’s a better time investment, too. I drive over three mountain passes. I’m thankful that the drive to my parents’ home was easy and that this time of year, there isn’t a lot of bad weather- just some wind.
  • I’m thankful it’s so much cooler here than where I live. Our apartment has been breaching the 80’s lately because back in Montana, temps are getting up there. It seems in general this week is just a cooler week though, as it looks like it’s going to storm when I get back. Either way, I’m thankful I’m not sweating while sitting on the couch!
  • I’m thankful my boyfriend is taking care of the apartment while I’m gone. He’s getting mail, doing dishes, and even remembering to water my basil plant (which, after getting scorched in the window sill last week, is starting to bud again after moving it outside). I know he doesn’t particularly care for these things
  • I’m thankful for puppy snuggles. My little sister has a Boston Terrier (who I think is maybe 3 or 4 years old now) and my mom got a “Frenchton” puppy over Christmas last year. Energetic as they are, when they settle down and just give love, they’re quite sweet little dogs, and their little puppy snuggles envelope you in affection and comfort.
  • I’m thankful for smaller theme parks. Yesterday, we spent the day at a theme park not too far away from where my parents’ live. It’s a smaller one (read: NOT Disney or Six Flags or anything that would be “well known”) but it is still really fun, and being on the smaller end means there are shorter lines. Admission is cheaper as well, which means we can go more often, taking pressure off of the trip to do “every ride.” It’s a nice way to spend the day with my sisters.
  • I’m thankful for the opportunity to see my cousins. My cousins, Holly and Matt, are coming tomorrow to see Grandpa. I haven’t seen them since our grandmother passed away a few years ago. Since then, Holly has gotten married (a wedding I missed- she lives in New York and it was during school) and has already had a little baby girl. Although the reason is unfortunate, I’m glad I get to see my family.
  • I’m (incredibly) thankful for my grandfather’s life. This trip out to visit my parents’ was incredibly short notice. My dad called me Sunday during the afternoon to tell me that Grandpa wasn’t doing very well- he’s back in the hospital and seems quite out of it. He talked for several minutes saying the same thing: we have no idea how he is. The next day- yes, on the Fourth- I was driving home. Grandpa seems to be doing somewhat better. He is coherent (and remembered I live in Montana), albeit looking quite frail. He transitions to a rehabilitation center hopefully tomorrow. My grandfather is a good man. It’s hard to see him this way but I’m thankful I get to see him and be in his life.
Leave a Reply

