Fragrances // TWP’s “One Day At Horrorland”

Perfume Name: One Day at Horrorland by Twisted Wonderland Perfumery
Indie or Mainstream: Indie
Cost and size: $13.50 for 5ml perfume oil, $15 for 10ml eau de parfum. Available as soaps ($5), sugar scrubs ($8.50), 2oz body mists ($8), and lotion ($9.50).
Availability: Limited edition from Falloween 2016 (currently off market- sorry!)
Shop description: “‘Viewer beware, your in for a scare!’ Pumpkin spice and spun sugar come together in this horrifyingly delicious treat.”

My opinions: This starts out very gourmand, especially in the bottle. The spun sugar is high, especially right out of the bottle. I get a hint of cardamom and nutmeg. It is very sweet, but I don’t feel sickened by it. It wears quickly to a strong cinnamon scent. Unlike normal cinnamon scents, this doesn’t give me a headache- it’s strong, but smooth. I don’t really pick up on any other spice, nor do I pick up on any pumpkin. It is definitely delicious.

Longevity: Low-moderate. This scent disappears within a few hours and top notes dissipate before within 30 minutes for me.

Sillage and throw: Low-moderate. Without an atomizer, it’s harder to tell, but as an oil drop, it’s hard to tell. I put it on my wrist, and I get whiffs of it myself. While wearing it, I’ve never had somebody who was not right next to me mention it.

Where this scent takes me: I start out in my kitchen in the middle of November, baking pastries and working on buttermints. Next, I’m sitting in my parents’ family room next to the fire during Christmas time. I have a warm drink in my hands, topped with whipped cream and fresh ground cinnamon. Dad is putting cinnamon scented pinecones in the fireplace, and the glow of the christmas tree is in my peripheral vision.

When I would wear this: Anytime between middle/late fall and winter. To me, this is a November-February scent. It is spicy, but it’s smooth and creamy, tampered by the sugary sweet top notes. Thus, it’s not sexy, and I can wear this to work with children. It does have a “it’s dark and cold outside” vibe to me; I’d wear this day or night.

Would I purchase a larger size of this scent? I did! I wish I had the sight to purchase a body spray of this scent as well, even.

Leave a Reply

