First Impressions // Juvia’s Place Nubian 2!

A gem of the online community, Juvia’s Place focuses on eyeshadow palettes that are richly pigmented and vibrant. While obviously anybody can enjoy these palettes, they do seem themed towards women of darker skin tones. Being the farthest thing, tone wise, from a Nubian Goddess, you might wonder why I decided to pick up a palette.

Here’s a truly mind-blowing idea: anybody can enjoy deeply pigmented palettes! I was looking for a good jewel-toned palette, actually, and this popped up as an option online. Usually the problem with palettes and WOC is that shades just don’t show up the same way. Palettes for WOC either are darker (because “nude” for them is not a cream shade) or so much more pigmented so the color can still be seen against their dark skin. Is it just me, or should all palettes be like that??

Here are some of my first impressions of this palette!

The palette itself is actually quite large. You can kind of see my hand struggle to hold it. I am a little annoyed by the size; if I can’t comfortably hold it in my hand, how can I comfortably use it? This is not a travel palette!

The packaging feels decently sturdy but is obviously not expensive. Juvia’s Place does seem to try to make their shadows more affordable; while they aren’t drugstore-priced, they aren’t $50+ that you see in Sephora. One way they may do this is my opting to use a cardboard packaging. Now, this is higher-quality than drugstore in my opinion, but it’s still not like the metal packaging you get from Too Faced or the cool plastic from Urban Decay.

The design fits the theme; I believe it is Nefertiti on the cover, but it may be any other Nubian female adorned. It’s obvious what the palette theme is without being over the top. The minimalist design is quite appealing to me but may be a little underwhelming to others who are used to mainstream mid-range packaging. It’s not sleek enough for me to put it up with the minimalist packaging you see in mid to high end products.

The top of the palette folds over and you see 12 shadows on the inside. The pans are surrounded by a bright pink background.

Now, these shadows are LARGE.  Unlike shadows in any other palette, these look like full-size singles placed in this palette. Palettes of this physical size usually hold many more shadows. This has pros and cons. Pro- if this is your only palette, you’ll probably be fine for a long time. No need to repurchase! Con- you’ll probably never use even half of the amount. Well, I won’t, anyway.

You can see that the actual shades tend to be quite warm. However, we do have a couple that look on the cooler side. I’m unsure how well the coppery and golden colors will play with my skin. As far as formula goes, I will say that they do seem decently pigmented. Finger swatches were easy to do, and every pan felt buttery and smooth. That said, the mattes seemed a little on the chalky side when I tried to swatch them while the shimmery or glittery shades seemed incredible.

As a first impression post, I have not worn these shadows yet, so I can’t remark on longevity or fall out. I will say this: the shadows did not smudge into each other easily in the swatches, but if I lightly run my fingers over the swatch, I do pick up pigment.

From top to bottom the swatches are:

  • Morocco, a very warm-toned matte orange, medium depth and a bit muted.
  • Madagascar, a yellowish matte brown, mid depth. It looks yellowy and slighly orangish on me, but in the pan and on some other people, it definitely looks a bit green. Unsure what this says about my skin 😉
  • Sheba, a bronze metallic. I would also say this is somewhere in the medium depth range. Slightly warm to my eyes; does look greenish on others- perhaps taupe?
  • Yaa, a warm metallic coppery orange, deeper than Morocco.
  • Jezebel, a deep burgundy-cranberry red (not orangey).
  • Zuri, a light metallic cream- almost pearly. Warmer tones to it.
  • Cleopatra, a dark metallic bright blue.
  • Nefertiti, another very warm metallic yellow-orange, brighter and lighter than Morocco and Sheba. Slightly warmer and darker than gold.
  • Nairobi, a medium metallic gold (which is actually quite pretty)
  • Leyla, a very dark plummy brown metallic.
  • Kenya, a dark matte brown.
  • Egypt, a metallic dark foresty green, slightly muted.

Overall first impression: They are pretty, but I’m unsure how I can put the shades together myself. If you have warmer skin (and darker skin), they might play better together than on my pale, kind of pinky skin.

Leave a Reply

