Wishlist Week // Day 3: Drugstore Products

Oh boy, did you think yesterday’s Sephora Skincare was indicative that I’m slowing down on my insatiable consumerism? Nope. I still have a mighty want, especially when it comes to drugstore products. I would buy literally all the products if I had the money- not because I want to partake in rampant consumerism but rather because I’m genuinely curious about these products, who they would work for (and yes, who they wouldn’t), and what dupes exist. Instead, I’m going to break this down into just a few products (and, you know, just a few shades) that I am most interested in trying.

2294339.jpeg

Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer. I have heard so many good things about this bronzer, and as somebody who is terrified of bronzers in general, I’m interested in trying this one out. Who knows- maybe I’ll convert to bronzing in the summer? But the $15 price tag still holds me back.

Revlon Insta-Blush and Insta-Fix Highlight Sticks. I don’t know why I want these other than I have a problem where I keep thinking I’ll like cream formulas, but I have yet to find the right colors to try. Their highlight stick in the shade “Pink Light” looks awesome for my skin, and I kind of want both “Rose Gold” and “Candy Kiss” in the blush sticks. At $12.99 for the blush and $13.99 for the highlight, though, I just can’t justify it quite yet.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 9.41.35 PM.png

CoverGirl TruNaked Jewels Palettes. I’ve been eyeing this since I first saw it several months ago. I don’t typically purchase drugstore palettes, as I don’t typically like the quality, but these colors are just so beautiful that I find myself lusting for it every single time I see it, especially for the purple, blue, and jade shades. $13 really isn’t bad for a palette, right?

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 9.41.48 PM

 

CoverGirl Vitalist Health Elixir Foundation.  You know me; I see a new foundation, and I want to try it out! This is no exception. It’s supposed to be great for skin, and even though I’ve seen many a dud review, I still want to try this out (you never know what will work for my skin). At $11.99, though, I’m still hesitant. Maybe after I’ve destashed the foundations that don’t work for me currently.

Light Ivory 83117_900px

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation in Light Ivory. Thank the good lord this is sold out, or it would be in my hands now because the $6 price tag is phenomenal. This is their new lightest shade (Porcelain, their old lightest shade, is now Natural). I remember loving how this foundation sat on me, but it was too yellow and too dark, only passable at my darkest in the summer. I want to try Light Ivory now so badly!

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 9.49.45 PM.png

L.A. Girl Pro Coverage HD Foundation in White. Being quite fair-skinned, it’s hard to find a good foundation match off the bat… So white mixers are something I’ve very, very interested in. I’ve tried a handful, most without success, but I’ve heard some very good things about the formula of this one. I’d love to pick one up- at $8.99, it doesn’t seem that expensive- but I always seem to forget when I go to place an order online (I can never find this in stores around me).

Maybelline LipStudio Color Jolt Lip Paints. These are a product I’ve been very curious to compare to the Too Faced Melted lipsticks and the L’oreal ones (with the doe foot applicator) as well. The colors I’m most wanting? Never Bare and Berry Naughty. $10 is quite a lot of a drugstore lip, but maybe someday they’ll be on a really good sale and I’ll pick them up.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 10.01.20 PM

Nyx Angel Veil Primer. I’ve heard so many positive things about this primer, even though it’s $16 and bordering on mid-range. I have several other primers to go through first, but this is definitely on my list.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 10.01.47 PM.png

NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder in Snow Rose. I have two of these already, but Snow Rose just seems like the perfect (pinky) addition to the icy blue and lavender colors I already own. Do I need to spend another $8 on another highlighter? No. Do I want to? Oh yes.

NYX Lid Lingerie Shadow Palette. I’ll admit that neutral mattes are not my typical “go to” shadows. I’ll also admit that I don’t really know yet how to create a cohesive neutral eye look. Yes, I can rock mauves and purples, but I can’t master the most basic, natural eye. I keep thinking this $10 palette will be the push I need to work hard on the natural eye (but really, I think I have enough).

There are definitely more drugstore products I want, but these are my top ones I’m dying to try out. I don’t need to spend another $136 on drugstore makeup at the moment… but I might save up and go on another spree once I’ve destashed products I know don’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

