Unboxing // Sephora Play! June 2017

The theme for Sephora’s June box is “Your Summer Starters,” and I’d have to say that I’m pretty excited about this one! I love the beach vibes this box’s artwork sends out! I’m very pleased that they went back to the cute muslin/cloth bags instead of sticking with the clear polyvinyl “Play!” bag from last month.

img_7123
I think this is SO cute! I love the “in a summer state of mind” phrase on the bag; it’s one of the more appealing ones as of late. Kind of an aside, but I’m really enjoying the little bits of diversity in this month’s artwork, too. While I think their dark-skinned beauty really isn’t dark enough, I love that they have different hair colors and skin tones (do you see how one of the white girls is pink and the other is peachy?). It’s a step in a good direction. I also love that one of the girls is wearing a basic black one-piece! While I think anybody who rocks a bikini is free to do so as they please, I am not one of those girls, and I love to see basic one-pieces being normalized.

Okay, I’m off my soapbox now. Let’s get into products!

  • Benefit Cosmetics The POREfessional Face Primer. Aw, this is just so teeny! I actually have a larger, travel-size version of this primer, and I’m still not sure how I feel about it, so I”m not sure how I feel about this primer being in my box. Deluxe sample; 3ml. Retail value: $4.43 (based on $31 for 21g full size). $5.14 if based on travel sized.
  • COOLA Green Tea & Aloe Makeup Setting Spray SPF 30. This was a sample  from Birchbox a while back that I didn’t end up getting but secretly wondered about for a while. I love green tea, I love aloe, I love setting sprays… and I love sun protection! But… drawbacks. SPF 30 for a spray? You won’t be getting even half of that, honestly, because there’s no way you’re using 1/4 tsp of spray on your face. The other downside? This smells straight-up like skunk to me, making me feel pretty sick. Still, the concept is cool! I might let the scent “air out” a bit (like I did for some skunky perfumes) and see how it works later. Deluxe sample; 10ml. Retail value: $7.20
  • Verb Sea Spray. My hair is fairly short (I guess it’s “technically” medium length, but for me, I’m used to medium-long to long hair), and it’s naturally very stick-straight. This says it’s for all hair types, but I’m very concerned it won’t actually do much for my hair. I’m still interested in trying it out, though! Travel size; 2.4 oz (72ml). Retail value: $7 ($5.42 based on full-size).

    img_7129

    KVD Lovesick: Current one is on the left; new is on the right.

  • Kat von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lovesick.  I have many deluxe-sample sized KvD ELL’s in my collection, as I purchased a huge set around the holidays last year. Lovesick was included in the set, and it’s one of those shades that survived my Great Lip Destash of 2016. I’m not sure yet what I want to do with this one, because this actually looks different in-tube than my current Lovesick… what?! Seriously, the new one looks darker and a bit less pink? Deluxe sample; 3ml. Retail value: $9.09.
  • Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk. If you know me, you know that when my hair is dyed, I don’t wash my hair as often to preserve the color. Because of that, I love dry shampoos! However, my dry shampoos that I’m trying to work through leave some white cast on my (very dark) hair. I’ve heard amazing things about Klorane, so I’m very excited to try this! Travel size; 50ml or 1 oz (note: it’s probably mostly gaseous as usually 1 oz is ~28-30ml). Retail value: $10 ($6.67 based off of full-size)
  • BVLGARI Omnia Crystalline. This is the perfume this month, and it smells very interesting. It’s supposedly lotus, nashi (pear), and balsa wood according to the brand. According to Sephora, the top notes are bamboo, middle notes are lotus flower, and base is balsa wood. I’m currently on the fence with this one. If you’d like to see a review, let me know! Sample spritzer; ~1.5ml. Retail value: $1.89 (based on largest available size)

Overall retail value: $39.61. Note: this is based on either the price for the item on Sephora if that size is available, or the calculated value based on the most economical packaging. Meaning, for instance, that the dry shampoo was given a RV of $10, not $6.67, because I can buy this exact size from Sephora, but that the Professional was given a RV of $4.43, because this exact size was not for sale at Sephora and this was the cheapest RV. For a $10 subscription, this is definitely not a bad RV; however, I’m not super impressed either. Taking the top prices for RV, this would be a ~$41 box, and if taking only the smallest (based on largest sizes available at Sephora), we’d be looking at $34.70.

Overall, I’m a bit… ambivalent. I think I’ve been using that feeling a lot lately. I’m curious, but also a little suspicious. I’m most excited for the dry shampoo and the sea spray. If the KvD lipstick hadn’t looked so different from my current Lovesick (or had been in a shade I don’t own), and if the COOLA spray hadn’t smelled so… musky… I think I would be much more excited for this box overall. Remember that for me to love a beauty box, I expect around 2 times the cost of the box in personal value, so I look for around $20 estimated personal value for a Sephora Play. Because I’m not sure about those two items, I’m not sure what my Personal Value is. I estimate a personal value around $20 after all is done and said, so I am okay with this box, just not 100% thrilled. I do think this is a better box, product wise, than some others recently!

Leave a Reply

