Unboxing // Sephora Play! July 2017

For some reason, I’m finding it really difficult to motivate myself to write these blog posts. Maybe it’s because I’m a bit anxious to get to the gym today (I’m waiting for FedEx to come pick up a package… should’ve been here an hour ago). I’m also having a hard time focusing on studying (reviewing oxygen containing reactions… you know, chemistry).

Anyway, let’s get into this month’s Sephora Play! sub:

This month, I received:

  • It Cosmetics Superhero Mascara. I understand why these are included in boxes. I do. I’m not angry; I’m just uninspired. I know many who love this formula, but for me, if it isn’t waterproof, it’s not a mascara I will (ever) use. To a friend this one goes. Deluxe sample size; size not listed on packaging. Retail value: ~$12? (based on travel size)
  • BareMinerals GenNude Matte Liquid Lip Color in Swag.img_7312 This is actually a product I’ve been wanting to try and perhaps the only item I’m truly excited for, as it’s one of the few new lipsticks in this brand’s line that doesn’t have shea butter. It’s going into my rewards system, but I did swatch it, and I think it might end up being a really nice color on me. Bonus: it smells like vanilla frosting. Deluxe sample size; 2ml. Retail value: $9.38
  • Briogeo Rosarco Milk Conditioning Spray. I’ve actually had this exact sample before, twice. One bottle is almost finished and another one is still unopened. I like it, and I was using it a lot in rotation with a few other sprays when my hair was bleached. Now, though, I don’t need a spray like this. Deluxe sample; 22ml. Retail value: $2.99
  • Boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding. I’m on the fence about this one at the moment; I’m not sure if I should try it or give it away. There’s nothing in it that I know my skin can’t handle, but I don’t know if it’ll be too stripping for my skin. It’ll probably go to the rewards program tbh. Deluxe sample; 25ml. Retail value: $11.18
  • Milk Cooling Water. I’m honestly intrigued by this. It smells a bit funny, but I am very interested in trying it out, so it’ll go into the rewards program too. Deluxe sample; 3ml. Retail value: $2.12
  • Atelier Cologne in Orange Sanguine. I actually own a 4ml travel spray of this and I never use it. It’s not a bad smell, and it’s not overly manly, it’s just not my favorite. Sample vial; ~$1.30 (based on large size).

Overall: Retail value: $38.97. I think most of the time with sample boxes, I end up feeling very ambivalent. I’m interested in some of these products, but I’m not really inspired by them; curious, but not enthralled. Many of these products also just don’t have the sample sizes that really make this value seem “all there,” you know? I think, for the price I paid, I’m getting my value, but I’m not jumping because of the “deal.”

2 thoughts on “Unboxing // Sephora Play! July 2017

  1. Tiffany Renee Harmon says:

    I hated the It Cosmetics mascara 😦 It did nothing for me and smudged like crazy! I did, however, love the Boscia pore pudding! I have quite sensitive skin and this worked well for me. It was also way more gentle than I expected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

